Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08 a.m. - 2007-03-12
Betty and Ed and Loss
Just a quick entry to anyone from Weetacon III who may be checking in. I will post about our weekend as soon as I can. I was home only 3 days when I had to fly to Maine to get the temporarily handicapped Polliwog and bring her home for spring break. Those 3 days will be a couple of entries all by itself. We got home early Sunday morning and Sunday afternoon I got a phone call from one of my closest friends. Her husband was found dead in his office that morning. He just turned 50. Working, on a Sunday morning. Working. On a weekend. He probably worked on Saturday, too.

My heart is broken.

He is Ed's best friend and they are the kind of couple who stand by you no matter what. I just keep thinking I'll never talk to him again or hear one of his lame jokes or stories about the stupidity of upper level engineering management. He was devoted to his family and their pets and us. He loved model trains and history and he helped us build our house. We were making plans to be in-laws together because they have sons and we have duaghters. That didn't quite work out and was all for the best I suppose.

You were a fine man Bob C. and there are many aching hearts this morning missing you. I wish you had not moved to Atlanta because Sandie needs me now and I can't get to her. I'm a little angry that you have left her alone in a city she didn't want to move to and am wondering why that had to happen.

When you get settled in up there you need to find Grandpa Gus, you'll love talking to him and hearing his stories. Then there's your model train friend and your mom and dad and Felicia. Hey, do me one last favor...find our Alexander and tell him we still miss him every day.

Everytime I peel a hard boiled egg for Passover I'll think of you. God, I wish you hadn't have left. See you later.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!