Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2009-09-23
Betty is a Slacker
Oh my, what a weekend. It was our biking weekend in which we spend three days riding through the lovely Bluegrass Region of Kentucky raising money for the American Lung Association. Usually I love this weekend. It's peaceful, it's quiet, there's lots of time for introspective contemplation of my life and why the hell I paid a $60 registration fee to torture my body for hours on a bicycle seat. I was terribly under trained and possibly under hydrated for the entire trip. Saturday I was nauseated and light headed. I made the 36.something miles for the day but struggled mightily on every hill. I felt motion sick most of the time and the worst part of it was it seemed to get worse when I stopped to rest. Sunday was not much better. It was not hot but the humidity was high. I had sweat through my clothes but wasn't cooling down because it wouldn't evaporate. About 3/4 of the way through the route the sky opened and the rain began to pour. Raindrops were hanging off my eyelashes and I couldn't see. I was having leg cramps and my blood sugar was dropping. I had lost sight of Big T and was feeling quite pitiful. So, when the support truck pulled up and asked me if I was OK I told them I was done and asked to be sagged into the destination for the day. I got off the seat, took off my helmet and tried to lift my bike over the tailgate of the truck. First try no dice. Second try, dropped bicycle; the burly truck driver had to pick it up for me. I'm so disgustingly out of shape. Sunday morning brought more buckets of rain but then sunshine at take off time. I begged off and rode the equipment truck to the finish line, defeated and still slightly nauseated. Big T finished the 100 miles and did really well. There is absolutely no justice in my life.

I've got to get back on the bike soon though because we've got a 90 mile round trip weekend in about 4 weeks. In October we ride the Little Miami Rails to Trails from Cincinnati to Dayton with a group of Trek friends. It's a long ride but easy and flat as long as the headwinds aren't too bad.

So, I've been grouchy and full of excuses the past 2 days. My heart's just not into fitness this week. Tomorrow's my birthday and I'm feeling a little old, a little achy and a lot lonely. My house is a hot mess and needs to be cleaned but somehow I can't find the energy when I get home in the evening. It's just one of those days when I'm having trouble finding purpose. Can someone find some purpose and meaning for me and send it this way? Thanks.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!