Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - 2007-12-05
Betty and the Delayed Update
Geez, when did it get to be December already and I haven't updated since September? I suppose I should begin with the best fall memory ever--the weekend of rehab. Wisconsin is a fabulous place and when you bring in the group that came together for 3 days of Green Bay frivolity there's no place I'd rather be. It's true we didn't have booyah but we did have sushi, a bar full of tarts, 3 vicars, beautiful fall leaves and Packer football which leads me to my heartfelt apology to Phil-By-The-Way at the Bad Bar. I am so sorry. I led you on, Ed did too but really, it took you way too long to figure it all out. Phil planted himself in the middle of our group and we all thought he was one of Weet's local pals who always join our party. He scrunched himself close to me and joined in the conversation like we had known each other forever. I kept complaining about being cold and that was when I heard the lamest pick-up line ever and knew he was a man on the prowl. He reached out and put his palm on my belly and said "You're not cold, you're hot." Oh yes, and it gets even better. After that he looks at Vicar Ed and says, "I know what we could do. You should marry us." pointing first at me and then at him. I snickered and asked Ed what he thought about the whole situation. I think that's when Phil started to understand the connection between the priest and the short skirt hooker girl and disappeared. Poor Phil, I felt badly after that, I really did. Please understand that I am 47 years old and need the validation that I still got it, at least when I'm drunk and you're drunk and we're both at the Bad Bar I do. And also, to the Rasta Man, Tall Guy and the girl who poured a shot in my mouth at the bar...I'll be back on January 25th.

From September we moved in to October with more bicycling weekends and football. Ah, I am feeling football withdrawal already and what a frustrating season it was for my beloved Cards. With a 6-6 season with no bowl bid I'm hoping some of the fair weather fans give up their season tickets so we can move in as permanent ticket holders. I'm trying to think positively and wait until next year. I received my confirmation letter from Mt. LeConte Lodge in the Smoky Mountains National Park that we scored a reservation. They use a lottery system for reservations a year in advance and people can wait forever and not get a night on the mountain. So, in early April Ed and I will add mountain hiking to our repertoire of athletic enjoyment. This place is so beautiful and the food is supposed to be yummy. The lodge is perched atop the highest peak in the park and the only way to get there is to hike. The trail we like best is about 5 miles and should take us 6 or 7 hours. I really need to figure out how to post pictures so I can share my mountain top splendor this spring.

Let's see, November was fairly quiet on our social scene. Work has been crazy busy and not enjoyable at all. I may see the light at the end of the tunnel, though. I have been giving serious thought to getting a master's degree in human nutrition. It seems that one of the hot jobs right now is studying the effect of diet and exercise on chronic disease (like diabetes) and given my food obsession that seems like something I would enjoy. The funny thing is that when I went to college the first time 30 years ago I was a home economics major and my dream was to work for Southern Living Magazine (I am really Betty Crocker in disguise.) Half way through my degree the university gave up their charter to confer a BS in Home Ec so what did I do? I quit. Boy, I'll bet they regretted that decision. When I went back to finish my degree the only program open that would save 2 years worth of work was the education degree, hence Betty the middle school literature/language arts teacher. Blah. Now they offer all the same classes but they are taught through the School of Agriculture which is, apparently, so much more politically correct. I like things that come around full circle.

December is shaping up nicely with a couple of fancy parties to attend and only 6 more working days until I get three weeks of blessed vacation! After that, only 24 days to wait for my winter entry to the Sardine Can. Woot, woot!!! A full-circle entry...(see first paragraph.)

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!