Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:09 p.m. - 2007-07-24
Betty Defines Being Catholic
What a weekend. The rumba dancing was fabulous. Finally, a dance we can both do and not crush each other's feet. I love the rhythm and sound of Latin music. When I hear it I can't stop myself from bouncing along to the beat, which embarrasses the Polliwogs to no end. This Friday the dance is something called a Bolero. It sounds Latin but I can't find anything on YouTube.com to check it out.

Saturday was our parish picnic day. I don't know if churches in the rest of the world raise money this way but in Kentucky we have the Catholic Church Picnic Season. They start in late May and run through early September at which time begins the Catholic Church Fall Festival Season. After that, it's time for Catholic Church Dance Season. This covers Halloween, New Years Eve and Valentine's Day and brings us around to spring and time for Lent in which we atone for all of the past season's sins. There's time to rest for a couple of weeks to get ready to start all over again. I almost forgot to mention the Monte Carlo nights that are sprinkled throughout the year just to keep everyone's wallet from getting too fat.

All of these events are pretty much the same: cigarettes, beer, gambling and deep fried food. I grew up in this culture and even now there is a feeling of comfort when I smell beer and hear the clickety-click of a spinning number wheel. Besides that, we Catholics are a lot of fun. Where else can you gamble, drink with abandon and cuss all in the name of raising money for the Lord?

That reminds me of a funny story. My parish priest from grade school was called Father Murphy. When he talked about Our Lord it sounded like he was saying Our Lard. I spent the whole of my third grade year wondering why he was talking about pig grease all the time. Anyhoo, a good but very tiring weekend was had by all. After frying chickens and serving up mashed potatoes at the picnic on Saturday I used the tasteless organic tomatoes to make about a gallon of marinara sauce. I had to add some canned tomatoes to give it flavor. Hopefully this week's vegetables will be better. I've got to tell you all that I am getting a little tired of the zucchini. I've been sneaking it into almost everything we've been eating. Tonight it's yellow squash...listen for the screams of the Polliwogs as they are left with nothing else to eat but baked vegetables. All a part of my master plan...

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!