Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:41 p.m. - 2007-07-11
Betty and a Sad Day
Another day another entry. My pal SC from Atlanta has been staying with me since Saturday. It's been good to have her here to talk to. We didn't do much except for sitting on the couch and catching up on each other's lives. I wish I could have taken some days off so we could have spent more time together. A day at the spa would have been a treat beyond compare. Ah well, she looked rested last night and had spent some time with the Polliwogs so maybe we were able to offer her some comfort in a quiet way.

SC's husband was Ed's best friend who died last spring. She is doing well considering it's only been 4 months. She went back to work right after the funeral and finished out the school year, which I thought, was pretty amazing. I can only imagine if I suddenly found myself to be a widow that I would lie in bed for weeks on end wishing to die. She seems to have taken hold of her life, though, and has done a good job of repairing the broken pieces of their old life and making a new life of her own. There are so many things she's had to take care of...bank accounts, insurance policies, mortgage payments, car titles, e-mail accounts. It's mind boggling to think about what we do every day, the things we take care of with out ever a second thought. What if suddenly you weren't here and someone else had to pick up where you left off?

We laughed and talked about our kids and our pets and our jobs. We cried. We fixed dinner. I hugged her goodbye last night because I had to go to work this morning before she was out of bed. I've been so sad today and lonely for my friend. Nothing sounds good to me, not even chocolate, and that is some serious sadness right there.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!