Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:42 a.m. - 2007-06-25
Betty's Back At It, Again
Back to posting! I don't know why I always think I have to write a novel every time I post. I always aim to do a quick update and the next thing I know it's hours later and I have multiple paragraphs. I talk too much.

It's been a busy summer so far and now the fall is already beginning to be booked. I spent a lonely week waiting for Ed to return from Shanghai but the reunion was pretty fabulous. My GA is Chinese and taught me some useful phrases and wrote Ed's name in Chinese characters for me. I was waiting at the airport holding balloons and a sign with his name in Chinese. I thought it would be funny since the guy who met him in China was standing with a sign with his name in English. What I wasn't counting on were all the other people who were waiting there who kept looking at me and smiling and nodding. I think they thought I was waiting for a baby. What a surprise when my baby turned out to be 6'4" of Ed.

I got though research presentations, grade audits and commencement for our graduating students, senior photos for polliwog #3 and moving #2 back home from her disastrous 1st year at college. Ed and I started taking ballroom dancing classes. So far we have done the Viennese Waltz (too fast and too many circles), East Coast Swing and the Tango. I think I like the Tango the best. It looks terribly complicated but it is not. Now, please keep in mind that we have no natural dancing talent and we do no fancy moves. We did manage to get through one entire Tango with only a few stumbles and start-overs. It's different and fun. We'll never be good but the point is to have some fun.

This weekend we will be taking our yearly trip to Tennessee for fireworks for the 4th of July picnic. We plan on hiking in the Cumberland Plateau and renting a pontoon boat on Chickamauga Lake. I'm going prepared with plenty of sun block and bug spray and a big hat. I'm scared of ticks in my hair. July should be fairly quiet; I may try to schedule a couple of campus visits for Polliwog #3. She is talking state schools, thank God. My campus comes back to life in August and our master's students return. There is also a heart association walk I have volunteered for and the opening U of L football game is on the 30th. We scored season tickets this year, too. Sweet. Big Blond Brohm returns for what is sure to be a phenomenal senior year. Can we all say championship bowl game? A January trip somewhere south for the BigHeads? "L" yes!

September brings 2 football games and 2 100+ mile bicycle trips I hope to take if training goes well and I can stay healthy. Anyone want to sponsor a middle aged woman in spandex trying to raise money for the Kentucky Lung Association? It might be appealing to someone, you never know.

See there...way more than I had planned. So much too say, so little time to play during work hours. I'll post again before we head to the mountains.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!