Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:05 p.m. - 2007-01-08
BigHead Country Updates
Oh Betty, Betty�where have you been for these many months? I can�t believe that my last post was last July. July! Can you believe that? No BigHead news for almost 6 months and the world is still revolving. So what has been happening in BigHead country you ask? It has been an amazing fall to be sure. Tadpole #1 moved into a very hip apartment with her best friend in the bohemian part of town. It�s in an old three story house that has a full front porch complete with columns that make it look like Scarlett�s plantation home in Gone With the Wind. She is happy and successful and making more money than me. I am happy that she is finally on her own and making mostly good decisions. It scares her sometimes when she realizes that she has taken on adult responsibilities. It scares me sometimes when she calls to let me know that she forgot to renew her auto insurance, but it�s been nice to have the extra cash. It�s hard to not tell her what to do.

Tadpole #2 moved to Po-dunk Maine in September to begin her college studies. Dorm move in day was one of the most difficult days of my life so far. It was cold and rainy and I stood in the courtyard of the freshman dorm complex hugging her neck, breathing in the very last of my little girl. I finally let her go and walked back to the car with Ed, mascara and snot running down my face as I tried to control the sobbing. She is doing well and likes living on her own even if she can�t stand her roommates. Apparently one is very religious and one is a tattle-tale and both are obsessively neat. All three of them have the same first name. I just wonder who in Student Life decided that would be a good idea.

#3 and #4 are deep in the depths of high school life carrying on Betty�s fine, nerdy tradition. All 4 tadpoles plus 2 BigHead cousins have attended my alma mater. Even though I�m almost 30 years post graduation, I still wear my senior ring to high school events and sing the school song with a tear in my eye. I am proud to be a part of it, though. This year is the 175th graduating class; it is the oldest school in the metro area. The current building has beautiful gothic architecture that is over 100 years old. Even though the nuns don�t live there anymore I still get the creeps when I walk through the part that used to be the convent. A spectral nun is definitely not the thing I want to run into.

Ed and I had a couple of lovely fall trips, the first being a couple of days in Ontario on the way home from taking #2 to school. We stayed at a romantic B & B in Niagara on the Lake, very nice. The second was one of the best trips we�ve ever taken. We spent a week in Seattle and Victoria, BC. I fell totally in love with Pike Place Market. I could spend hours there everyday watching the guys throw the fish and planning luscious meals with the beautiful produce. We also discovered the Russian pastry shop and the Chinese dumpling guy and the hippies who sold hot cake donuts rolled in cinnamon sugar fresh out of the fryer. We pretty much ate our way from Seattle to Port Angeles, then across the Puget Sound to Victoria and back again. There was a bakery across from our hotel in Victoria that sold the best sausage rolls. We bought 4 to go and ate them at SEATAC waiting for our flight home. Then there were the joys of flying Delta first class and endless Mile High Mojitos. It was a very happy flight I must say.

We hiked through a section of old growth forest at Mt. Ranier. Seeing the beauty of that mountain took my breath away. I have no words to describe the majesty of the fall colors and the stark whiteness of the glaciers. You�ll just have to visit and see for yourself. We did a quick hike through a section of rain forest in Olympic National Park which was very strange indeed. I am used to humidity, being from Kentucky and all, but the combination of damp humid and cold was quite unusual. I really need to figure out how to post pictures. It would be fun to share to joy with my reader.

Speaking of my reader�Tobermory, where are you? You haven�t posted in a while and you haven�t registered for Weetacon 3, either. I hope all is well with you. It won�t be the same without you at the Bad Bar.

So much more to say but this post is already way too long. I guess I�ll leave you wanting more and post again tomorrow or at least by the end of the week. It feels good to write again. See ya.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!