Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:38 a.m. - 2006-03-02
The Green Bay Connection...Lovers and Dreamers and Me
Here I am, back at home after a fab Weetapie weekend in Green Bay. I don't know where to start, it was all so much fun. I could take up permanent residence at St. Brendon's. The rooms are so comfortable and the waterfall shower is the best ever. It was great to talk to June and Ward again. I tried to talk June into heading south and catering tadpole #2's graduation party in May...I'm sure brats and booyah would be as much a Bullitt County hit as a pig roast. I stayed warm on the sleigh ride thanks to being snuggled between Rachel and Ed and the endless nips of the minty goodness of Dr. M. A note of trivia interest here. We noticed on the bottle of Dr. M that it is bottled in Frankfort. So close to home and I swear I don't think it is available here. Mikey's was great, I even saw Randy from last year still wearing a touk and walking around with his pants unzipped. Ah, the comforts of familiarity, perhaps he lives there.

On Saturday we visited the train museum, Simon's Cheese and found Biebels Grocery and bought many pounds of brats to take home. After a long afternoon nap we had a quiet dinner at St. Brendon's then went to that epitome of dancing and fine liquor, the very Bad Bar. All I can say is wow, double and triple wow. I rediscoverd rum and diet Coke, the drink of my high school days, and danced in the window, people. Actually let myself go, shaking everything I had in the actual window. Freedom, sweet freedom. Arm waving, finger snapping, hair in my eyes, smiling abandon.

So, the question now is, who was I this weekend? I've thought a long time about that one and I've decided that I was (am) a woman at long last set free. Set free from 92 pounds of fat and tons of guilty, self-imposed baggage. I am a woman who finds herself exactly where she wants to be, building a new life, looking forward to tomorrow, speaking truth instead of fear. Lofty thoughts for someone like me, but where else except through my Weetabix-connection friends would I have discovered so much about myself?

I'll write more later...time for a budget meeting, big yawn.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!