Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:48 p.m. - 2006-02-21
Launch Preparation
Hey, I've got a comment! biensoul signed my guest book. Wow, I feel good now, especially since I've learned how to do the linky thingy. So much to do and so little time. Only 48 hours to go before Weetapie launch. I've been working on preparing picnic food for Ed and me. Usually road food for us involves smoked almonds and cheese but since we are heading for the cheese state I guess I will forgo the usual items. I am going for a seafood theme this trip. Something a little more intimate than usual, romantic even (see previous post).

I made a wonderful shrimp salad and toasted thin slices of homemade herb bread. I also made some miniature crab cakes and bought some raspberry salsa to dip them in. Top it off with Godiva truffles and diet Arizona green tea and you've got romance in the snow. Since we are leaving Thursday evening we probably won't stop until we get to Pleasant Prairie, WI which means our picnic will be in our Red Roof Inn room, but that's OK. The point of the deal is to spend some time together.

I'm really excited about touring the Jelly Belly warehouse (hence the overnight stay in Pleasant Prairie). It'll be hard to decide what flavors to buy. I don't like the mixed bags because they dump everything that doesn't sell well in there. Flavors like jalapeno and pear and cotton candy. I like the citrus ones and hot buttered popcorn and margarita. Yum. I'll be mixing up Jelly Belly recipes for weeks.

Let's see...what else in preparation? Ed continues to be puzzled by the matching of clothing and accessories. I'm actually taking off a half-day tomorrow so I can be at home in peace and quiet to pack my clothes. No one to bother me as I try on endless combinations of outfits to see which ones produce the highest degree of ass-shaking hotness. The weekend in the frigid north gives me the chance to be anyone I want to be, which is one of my therapy goals. Who is BettyBigHead, exactly? Who does she want to be? What does she want? It's an amazing freedom to ponder those questions. Sometimes it scares the be-jesus out of me but I have learned that no one else can answer for me.

At the end of it all I stand alone, accountable only to myself. Ed and the tadpoles are there next to me but I have to dig happiness out of my own heart. I'm working on it.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!